Unlike a standard rental contract, a Nevada month-to-month lease agreement allows landlords to rent out a property to tenants without setting an end date. Therefore, it renews every month and allows both parties to terminate it with explicit notice.
However, even though it's short-term, this agreement is still legally binding, so it establishes the rights of property owners and lessees, as well as the responsibilities that both parties must fulfill.
Here's all the information you need to draft a Nevada month-to-month lease agreement.
How Does it Work?
In Nevada, a month-to-month lease agreement can be oral or written. Both options are valid and protected under the state's landlord-tenant laws.
In this regard, both the person who rents out the property and the person who leases it are granted full rights and must comply with some rules and obligations, including paying rent on time and keeping the space safe and habitable.
As mentioned, a Nevada month-to-month lease contract renews each month when the tenant pays rent. If any party wants to terminate it, a written notice must be served.
Legal Disclosures to Include
In order to make this contract legal, you must include three legal disclosures. These are:
- Inventory and Condition of Premises: Landlords must provide this list detailing the property's condition and inventory.
- Foreclosure: Tenants must be informed if the rental unit is subject to foreclosure proceedings.
- Lead-based Paint Disclosure: Property owners are required to inform prospective tenants of potential lead-based paint risk if the housing unit was built before 1978.
How Much Notice Should Landlords Give?
Nevada allows both tenants and landlords to terminate a month-to-month lease. Either party must give a 30 days' written notice.
However, these two exceptions allow month-to-month tenants to extend the minimum termination notice.
- The tenant is 60 or older.
- The tenant has a mental or physical disability.
Is It Possible to Evict Month-to-month Tenants?
In this state, landlords can evict tenants if they have given proper notice and the period expired, but the tenant remains on the property.
The first step in starting the eviction process is filing a complaint with a county court.
Drafting a Nevada Month-to-month Lease Agreement?
Need to draft a Nevada month-to-month rental agreement? DoorLoop has got you covered. We offer different Nevada rental forms for free!
Also, if you want to customize your own document, we recommend this paid service. You can find a template for this state.
Do I Have to Provide a Written Notice Before Increasing the Rent?
Yes! Nevada requires landlords to provide a 45 days' notice before increasing the rent payment.
Do Nevada Landlords Have to Comply with Notice Delivery Requirements?
You're right! In Nevada, landlords must deliver the rent increase notice in person or mail it to those business places designated for receipt of rental payments during the lease term
Should Landlords Check Tenants' Credit History on a Month-to-month Lease Agreement?
Month-to-month rental agreements don't require credit checks if tenants pay the security deposit and the first month's rent, but it's up to you!
How Long Does it Take to Evict Month-to-Month Tenants in Nevada?
The eviction process in Nevada takes from one to six weeks. However, it may be longer in some cases.