Do you want to learn how to create a Nevada sublease agreement for someone else to take over the rental payments? Subletting has many benefits, but you must get permission first and realize that you're responsible for anything the subtenant does. Let's learn more!
A Nevada sublease agreement is the contract between the existing tenant and the new tenant. The sublessor rents part or all of the rental property to a subtenant and receives regular payments.
However, the original tenant must check with the landlord to determine if subleasing is allowed, as many contracts forbid subletting.
Subleasing is something the original tenant may do if they must leave the property during the lease. They're now the sublessor, and the new tenant is the subtenant. Landlords don't have to interact with subtenants at all.
What to Include
- Names of all parties involved with the sublease agreement
- Address of the property to sublease
- Terms of the rental agreement
- Utilities that must be paid and the security deposit to collect
- Signature of both people, the landlord's consent, and the date
How to Write One
Here are the steps to take to write your Nevada sublease agreement:
- Property Type - Common options include apartments, houses, condos, cabins, townhouses, and rooms.
- Names - Include the names on your original lease.
- Addresses - If the original tenant lives on the subleased property, that address should be listed. However, use the address where you live for rent and notices.
- Subtenant's Name - That's the name of the person you sublease to.
- Landlord's Name - Include the landlord's name from that original lease.
- Copy of Original Lease - Attach the copy of the initial lease to the new agreement.
- Other Property Information - State restrictions of the property and what the subtenant can access.
- Sublease Terms - Choose the start/end date. The sublease cannot go past the end date of your original lease.
Check the original lease to determine if you can sublet the apartment. The original tenant should get written permission from the landlord before subletting in this state. Once you fill out the sublease agreement, you're responsible for the subtenant and liable for violations.
The sublessor should honor the terms of the sublease and original lease for the rental property. Therefore, they must follow Nevada laws for eviction and other matters.
The sublessor is required to:
- Return security deposits within 30 days of the sublease's end
- Give the subtenant a seven-day written notice to leave or pay rent
- Give a 30-day written notice of intent not to renew the original lease or sublease
Build Your Own
DoorLoop is an excellent resource when you need a binding Nevada sublease agreement template. You can find one in these formats:
Or, you can create your very own from scratch here.
Lease signing is your biggest opportunity to lay the foundation for a pleasant tenant experience, and that relies on making the process as easy and efficient as possible.
With DoorLoop, you can get your subleases eSigned in a few seconds. You can also get to the eSignature step much more easily by creating reusable sublease templates that are autofilled with tenants' information.
DoorLoop also makes it so simple to find the best tenants in the first place by syndicating your lisitngs on popular websites Zillow, Trulia, Hotpads, Apartments.com, and more. You can also make sure you're bringing in the best tenants by screening your prospects in seconds through DoorLoop.
For more information about DoorLoop, learn more or schedule a free demo.
Subleasing can have many benefits, but it's important that all parties understand their obligations. Create an iron-clad Nevada sublease with DoorLoop today!
Is Subletting Legal in Nevada?
Yes, subletting is legal if the lease doesn't mention subletting or prohibit it outright. However, most leases have a clause requiring written approval first.
Can the Tenant Sublet without Getting the Landlord's Permission?
No. The Landlord-Tenant Code says you must get written approval by the landlord before you sublet. However, the landlord cannot deny the request for an unreasonable reason.
Can You Evict the Subtenant and Get Back Rent?
The eviction guidelines for a subtenant are similar to those for a normal tenant with a traditional lease agreement. If you must evict them and they haven't paid rent, you must ensure that the landlord gets paid. You will also cover the legal costs affiliated with the process and damages unless you can win them back in court.
Can I customize my own form or agreement?
Yes, you always can, however if you want to be 100% sure you are protected, you should consult an attorney in your local area.