This rental contract establishes a landlord-tenant relationship over a residential unit. Unlike standard documents, however, a month-to-month lease agreement allows a lessee to rent property from the owner for a short period.
Do you want to learn more about it? Read on to find what you need to draft one!
Understanding How They Work in Tennessee
A Tennessee month-to-month lease agreement allows tenants to lease a rental property. It's a common option when they cannot commit to annual payments, as it establishes a monthly tenancy that renews each time lessees pay rent.
This type of lease agreement is also governed by each state's landlord-tenant laws. Therefore, both parties have rights, duties, and obligations.
When drafting a month-to-month lease agreement in Tennessee, you must add the following legal disclosures:
- Lead-based Paint Disclosure: A federal rule requires landlords to provide this disclosure if the residential property contains this toxic paint. It applies to units built before 1978.
- Landlord Information: Tenants must know the name and address of the property owner, manager, or any other person authorized to represent them before the tenancy begins.
- Showings: Landlords are allowed to show a property to prospective tenants even if someone else lives there. However, it is only allowed within 30 days before the lease term ends and under other rules.
Minimum Termination Notice
Tennessee landlords or tenants who want to terminate a month-to-month lease must provide at least 30 days' written notice.
Can Landlords Evict Month-to-month Tenants in Tennessee?
Yes! If they have served proper notice, the period expires, and tenants are still in the property, Tennessee landlords can evict them by filing a complaint with an applicable county court.
Useful Free Forms to Make the Rental Process Easier
If you have to draft a Tennessee month-to-month lease agreement, Doorloop can help! We have all the rental forms you need, and they're free.
In addition, we recommend this paid service for those who want to customize their own contract!
How Soon Can I Complete the Eviction Process in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, the eviction process can take anywhere from four to eight weeks. In some cases, it may take longer.
How Much Notice Should I Send to Raise the Rent in This State?
This state requires landlords to serve a 30 days' notice before the rent increase takes effect.
Can I Provide an Oral Termination Notice?
No, although the month-to-month lease contract can be oral, landlords must always provide a written termination notice.
Can I customize my own form or agreement?
Yes, you always can, however if you want to be 100% sure you are protected, you should consult an attorney in your local area.