Landlords often try to rent property to make a little money for themselves, and a Tennessee lease agreement is crucial. These documents set the tone for the experience that both the landlord and the tenant have over the course of a lease.
Therefore, your lease agreement should protect your needs and tell prospective tenants what they should know before renting.
Typically, lease agreements include information about the rent, security deposits, and other miscellaneous factors, such as termination terms and pet allowances.
This page outlines everything you should provide in a Tennessee lease agreement and offers tips about making the process easier with property management software.
A lease is a legally-binding contract signed by the landlord and tenant. Sometimes, you may even have a Tennessee commercial lease agreement or a Tennessee sublease agreement.
The legal document states the rules associated with the rental unit, such as monthly rent, security deposit, and recurring fees so that the tenant understands everything. The lease agreement has to comply with the landlord-tenant laws of Tennessee, which we briefly cover here.
What to Include
The rental agreement should include these bits of information:
The landlord can charge a tenant any rent price they deem appropriate because there are no control policies. Unless otherwise stated, rent is due at the start of each month.
Landlords have no limits on how much to increase prices, so they can raise the cost as much as they want for the property.
There is a five-day grace period for tenants, which doesn't count Sunday or legal holiday days. Late payments can get a ten percent maximum fee.
Landlords don't have to collect a security deposit from the tenants, but it's recommended. If that's the case, it should be listed in the contract. There's no security deposits maximum amount, and the landlord is required to give back all funds within 30 days of the tenant vacating the premises.
Right to Entry for Repairs
Landlords aren't required to give a notice to access the property, though most people provide a twenty-four hours' notice. Still, the landlord isn't required to put that in the contract.
Lease Termination and Evictions
There are many reasons a landlord can terminate the lease term, including:
- Failure to cover payment amount or not paying rent
- Violating the lease (damage to the unit, smoking in non-smoking areas, etc.)
- Conducting illegal activity
- Safety violations
Eviction notices must be 30 days for monthly lease agreements. Landlords are required to visit the justice court where the rental property is, which might be general sessions or a circuit court. You must fill out the appropriate forms and pay the filing cost.
Then, the tenant is served by a peace officer or professional process server six days before your eviction hearing is scheduled.
Every rental agreement should include these disclosures, usually as an itemized list. The state laws of Tennessee require them for each property rented by landlords to a tenant.
- Landlord Name and Address - Each rental property should list the property owner and landlord for each rental unit, disclosing the name and address for future legal demands and notices sent by the tenant.
- Security Deposit Holdings Disclosure - If the landlord chooses to charge and hold security deposits, Tennessee law requires that they disclose the account location where it's held, though the account number doesn't have to be included.
- Right to Enter for Showings - The property owner can enter the property to show it before the end of the lease term. However, landlords must have this included in the agreement, warning the current tenant that potential tenants may be on the property. There must be a twenty-four-hour notice.
- Lead-based Paint - Federal law requires landlords of homes built before 1978 to disclose the risks of lead-based paint. Therefore, the landlord must fill out a disclosure form from the EPA and attach it to the agreement. They must also offer prospective tenants an approved pamphlet about its dangers.
- Late Fees - The tenant has a right to know which fees are charged for what purposes. Therefore, landlords must provide prospective tenants with this information before the move-in date.
Build Your Own
You can create a customized lease agreement document online. It's a multiple-choice quiz that will let you choose everything you want for your document.
Once you're done, you'll get your customized document, which you can use at any moment you prefer.
Real estate investors typically choose rentable places so that they can have tenants to cover most of the bills. However, it's hard to complete lease agreements without property management software.
DoorLoop gives you a free form to help you complete templates in seconds. Plus, you can auto-fill them and even perform tenant screening by seeing the tenant's credit information after they complete a Tennessee rental application form. Then, send the agreement directly to the prospect once it's customized to your liking!
Please request a free demo today to start using DoorLoop now!
How long is a lease agreement for a residential property in Tennessee?
Residential lease agreements can be up to 3 years long in Tennessee. Leases longer than that must be in writing with signatures from the landlord and tenant to be valid. However, a landlord may also choose to generate a lease on a month-to-month basis. This requires a 30 days notice before it can be terminated.
Are Tennessee rental lease agreements legally binding?
Yes, a rental contract is binding for both the tenant and landlord. As long as the written lease was signed, it's legal.
Can a lease agreement for a residential property automatically renew in Tennessee?
Yes, a lease may automatically renew if they've got an auto-renewal clause. That means neither party must take any action, though the tenant should require a new lease to be generated for proof.