A month-to-month lease agreement allows landlords to rent out a property in exchange for monthly rent payments when tenants aren't financially able to commit to an annual lease.
This contract can last indefinitely but is usually temporary. Also, it doesn't have a fixed end date. Therefore, the month-to-month lease is effective until one party decides to terminate the rental agreement.
Need to know more about this document? Here's useful information and some resources that will make your rental successful!
Month-to-month lease contracts are usually easy to draft and require the same details as standard agreements, such as when it becomes effective, rent cost, additional fees, and more.
In addition, these documents must include the following legal disclosures:
- Lead-based Paint Disclosure: A property owner must inform tenants if there's toxic lead-based paint in the rental unit. This requirement is mandatory for properties built before 1978.
- Owner and Management Information: The contract must include the contact information of the property owner or manager before tenants rent property from the landlord or upon signing the contract.
- Methamphetamine Contamination: Landlords must disclose if there was methamphetamine storage or manufacturing in the rental unit, as it's potentially contaminating.
- Property Condition Report: Landlords must also provide lessees with a written inventory. It should detail the rental unit's condition before the tenancy begins.
Utah Month-to-Month Lease Agreement
As mentioned, a month-to-month rental agreement is a contract that binds landlords and tenants for 30 days at a time. It can be oral or written.
Both parties are granted full rights according to federal and state landlord and tenant laws. In addition, they must comply with different responsibilities – tenants must pay rent on time, and property owners must make sure the unit is in good condition.
Landlords can evict tenants if they give proper notice and the term ends, making the month-to-month agreement no longer active, but the lease stays in the unit.
Property owners must file a complaint with a county court to begin proceedings under local eviction laws. Evicting a tenant usually takes one to four months, but it can vary depending on the circumstances.
Free Utah Rental Forms
The rental process can be complex and time-consuming. However, you can make it easier with the right resources! Doorloop offers free rental forms to help Utah landlords.
Customize Your Own
Do you think customizing your own month-to-month rental agreement is the best course of action? Here's a paid service you can consider.
How Much Notice Should I Provide to Raise the Rent in Utah?
Utah has not set a notice period for a rent increase. However, property owners are encouraged to provide at least a 15 days' notice if there will be changes in rent charges.
What Are the Notice Delivery Requirements in This State?
Under state law, landlords must also comply with several notice delivery requirements.
These are the methods that Utah property owners must use to deliver a notice:
- Registered mail or certified mail
- Hand delivery
- Deliver a copy to a suitable-age person if the tenant is absent
- Place a copy in a noticeable area in the rental unit if no one is there
How Much Notice Should I Provide to End the Lease?
In Utah, a month-to-month lease agreement can be terminated by either the landlord or the tenant at any time as long as the other party receives at least the minimum termination notice.
When Is a Month-to-Month Lease Agreement Renewed in Utah?
Unlike the standard rental contract, this document will automatically renew each month unless one party terminates the lease.