One crucial part of the Colorado landlord-tenant law is the rent department. If you want to ensure you're complying with the law when renting your commercial or residential property, you must see if the state has its own rent control laws.
Here, we'll answer if Colorado has any rent increase laws in place and how you can manage your rent increases.
- Does the Landlord Need a Reason to Raise Rent?: No
- Is There a Limit on Rental Prices?: No
- How Much Notice Is Required?: 60 days (if there isn't a written lease agreement)
Colorado Rent Control
Currently, Colorado doesn't implement rent control regulations at a state-wide level. Moreover, the state prohibits cities and counties from implementing rent control measures.
In essence, enforcing rent control laws in Colorado isn't allowed. Landlords can increase the rent as much as they want for their rental agreement term, but it's still recommended that they work with reasonable amounts to prevent the Colorado tenant from moving out.
Rent Control Laws
Now that you know there isn't any way to control rent in Colorado, let's cover everything you should know about rent increases in the state.
When Can You Raise Rent in Colorado?
You can increase the rent price at any moment unless you're doing it for retaliatory or discriminatory reasons.
On the other hand, you shouldn't increase the rent in the middle of the lease term, unless you created a clause in the lease agreement.
How Much Can You Raise the Rent in Colorado?
Considering there aren't any state-wide limits to rent, landlords can charge as much as they want for the rent payment.
Still, keep in mind that one of the most common "landlord responsibilities" is to send written notice to Colorado tenants before raising the rent.
Are There Any Cases Where You Can't Raise the Rent?
There are a few scenarios that prohibit landlords from increasing the rent. Overall, landlords can't increase the rent as a discriminatory or retaliatory measure.
The Federal Fair Housing Act doesn't allow landlords to discriminate based on a person's:
- Familial status
Also, there are some local jurisdictions (Denver and Boulder) that prohibit discrimination based on the following:
- Military status
- Source of income
As for retaliation, landlords can't increase the rent as a retaliatory measure for a tenant's action, such as organizing a union or filing a complaint.
Moreover, if the unit falls under the category of a "mobile home space," the landlord won't be able to raise the price for rent if the area:
- Has unpaid penalties from the "Division of Housing"
- Doesn't comply with any final agency order
- Doesn't have an active/current registration
How Much Notice Is Required Before Raising Rent in Colorado?
There are no specific laws surrounding notice periods for written leases, although it's recommended that landlords provide reasonable notice before raising the rent.
Still, remember that landlords can't increase the rent during the lease term; they must wait until it ends.
In case there isn't any written lease, the landlord must provide the tenant with at least 60 days of notice.
Finally, rentals involving mobile home spaces require landlords to give at least 60 days of written notice whether they're working with a written or oral lease agreement.
Understanding the rent increase laws in Colorado isn't that hard, as it's one of the states that don't impose them in any way. Landlords have total liberty when it comes to increasing rent, but they must still abide by the terms specified on this page if they want to avoid legal problems.
If you want to learn more about Colorado's landlord-tenant laws and other important terms, make sure to go to DoorLoop's resources page!
Free Forms for Colorado Landlords
Check our free forms page for more resources that can help you with your renting process in Colorado.
DoorLoop hosted this webinar with attorney Michael Larranaga from Larranaga Law to help answer many of your legal questions. Michael specializes in real estate law and evictions in Colorado and we covered:
- Landlord-tenant issues and laws
- Grounds to evict a tenant
- Eviction process
- Preventing delays or fines
- Hiring an Attorney vs DIY
- Post COVID legal changes
Feel free to learn more and watch this webinar for free.
Can Local Governments in Colorado Establish Rent Control Laws?
No. The state of Colorado prohibits local governments from creating any control rules for rent prices.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Colorado?
Colorado landlords can increase the rent as much as they want, but it's recommended that they evaluate the average housing market price so that they can make reasonable increases and avoid losing tenants.
What Happens if the Tenant Fails to Pay Rent?
Landlords can start a claim with the Colorado small claims court, which is responsible for resolving disputes surrounding security deposits and rent.
On the other hand, if there's a clause in the lease agreement, the landlord may charge the tenant a late fee and then proceed to take legal action if they don't pay in time.
Keep in mind that tenants may withhold rent if they consider the property isn't habitable or that the landlord isn't keeping up with their responsibilities.
Can a Landlord Evict a Tenant for Not Paying Rent?
Yes. If the tenant doesn't pay rent and also fails to pay late fees, the landlord may send a notice to pay or quit.
- Colorado Rent Increase Laws Webinar
- Overview of Landlord-Tenant Laws in Colorado with Attorney Michael Larranaga
- HUD - Tenant Rights, Laws, and Protections in Colorado
- Colorado Revised Statutes 38-12-301
- Colorado Revised Statutes (Full Title 38)
- Colorado Eviction Laws: The Process & Timeline In 2023
- Colorado Landlord Tenant Laws & Rights for 2023
- Colorado Security Deposit Laws | Deductions & Rights