A property owner who wants to rent a commercial or residential building in Washington understands how important it is to have a legal contract.
Typically, a Washington standard residential lease agreement sets a foundation and ensures that you and the tenant have an amicable time. Therefore, it must protect your interests and tell prospects everything they must know before they move in.
It's important to have all the information necessary and find out about property management software that can benefit you and streamline the creation process.
Commercial vs. Residential
A rental agreement is a signed contract between the tenant and landlord for a particular residential property.
This lease must state the rules associated with living in that rental unit, such as rent, security deposit, etc. Plus, it must comply with the current landlord-tenant laws in Washington, which we cover on this page.
What to Include
Generally, a Washington rental agreement must include the rules you enforce while someone lives on the property. Here are common things to provide:
The tenant agrees to pay the landlord monthly rent, which can vary based on when the person moved in. The state doesn't have specific time periods for clemency, so each renter must pay rent by the due date indicated in the lease.
Typically, if a tenant does not pay the rent by the specified time, landlords can offer a grace period, though there are no known rules in place. A late payment can be 20 percent or $20 on top of the rent each month. However, the lease agreement must state the rent date, late payment fees, and the chosen clemency period.
There's no security deposits maximum listed by state law. Therefore, the landlord may demand whatever security deposit amount they want for the property.
If interest is earned during that time, the sum of those earnings is granted to the landlord. However, after the lease agreement is up, the tenant must receive the security deposit return within twenty-one days after termination and moving out.
Right to Entry for Repairs
A landlord must tell the tenant in writing that they are entering the property and should give forty-eight hours' notice. Emergency situations don't require that two days' notice.
Build Your Own
Here are the required disclosures Washington landlords must include in a standard lease:
- Name and Address of Landlord - Tenants have a right to know who their landlord is and how to communicate. While it doesn't have to be in the agreement, it should be provided with it.
- Fire Safety/Protection - A landlord must provide information relating to evacuation plans, fire systems, alarms, sprinklers, and smoke detectors. It must be a written disclosure and include a diagram of the emergency evacuation routes. The landlord and tenant must both sign it, and there should be a smoking policy if that is permitted on the property.
- Mold - Washington requires each landlord to include information about indoor mold dangers as a notice or disclosure. It should be posted on the rental property in a conspicuous space and must contain data about growth and control.
- Move-in Checklist - Before a landlord can collect a security deposit from the tenant, they must provide a checklist inventorying everything on the property. Each party must sign and date it, retaining a copy.
- Security Deposit Holdings - If security deposits are collected, landlords must provide holding data to the tenant as a receipt. It must include the financial institution.
- Fees - One-time, non-refundable fees can be charged, but it must be stated as such in the agreement. This includes nonrefundable fees for access to amenities, expenses, and pets on the property. If this isn't provided to the tenant, the tenant can request a refund upon terminating the lease.
- Voter Registration and Renter's Handbook (Seattle) - In Seattle, landlords must provide a renter's handbook containing tenant information and the voter registration package. Any prospective tenant must receive this.
- Lead Paint - Federal law requires homes built before 1978 to feature a risk about lead-based paint if it is used on the property. Landlords must fill out a disclosure form and include it with the lease. They must also hand out pamphlets.
Why Use DoorLoop
Many people think they need licensed attorneys to help them navigate rental agreements. Whether you require a Washington roommate agreement to bring in a new tenant or a Rental Housing Association version, DoorLoop keeps things simplified.
Craft a Washington rental application to request a person's rental history. Then, screen tenants easily to handpick the best choices. Download a free form and customize it to your liking within minutes! Request a demo of DoorLoop without using a credit card!
Do you have an efficient system for electronic lease signing?
With DoorLoop, you can turn your lease form (or any other file) into a digital template that can be reused, autofilled with your tenant's information, and securely sent through your tenant portal for eSignature.
DoorLoop also makes it simple and fast to find new tenants on Zillow, Trulia, Hotpads, Apartments.com, and more. You can also find excellent tenants by screening your prospects in seconds through DoorLoop. The best part is, paper applications and leases are a thing of the past! Your tenants can fill out their rental application online and be screened (and selected!) in seconds.
For more information about DoorLoop, learn more or schedule a free demo.
Tenants and landlords agree to live by the rules in the rental arrangement. Therefore, it must be written correctly. DoorLoop is an excellent property management software that streamlines the process. Try it today!
How long should a Washington lease agreement be?
A rental agreement can only be one year long in Washington. While longer leases are permitted, there are laws in place. They must be in writing and notarized. Though verbal agreements are allowed for monthly leases, the tenant and landlord must both agree to the rules.
Is a Washington sublease agreement legally binding?
Yes, all subleases and rental agreements are legal contracts. The tenant and landlord must sign them and are then bound by the terms therein.
Can lease agreements automatically renew in this state?
Yes, the rental agreement may automatically renew unless stated otherwise in writing. Tenants may discontinue tenancy, notifying the landlord 30 days before the end date of the lease period.