Landlords who want to terminate a rental agreement in South Carolina must comply with different rules according to the state's laws. If you want to learn how to draft a notice to vacate in South Carolina, keep reading for more information.
Lease Termination Letter
A lease termination document in South Carolina gets used to end a month-to-month rental agreement in the state. Thankfully, laws in South Carolina don't ask for too many rules to end a month-to-month tenancy.
The following sections will outline the most essential details of ending a lease agreement in this state.
Regarding the South Carolina notice requirements, the most important thing to note is that the landlord must provide the tenant with at least 30 days' notice. If the landlord unlawfully removes the tenant from the unit without the notice required by the law, the tenant may recover possession of the unit and up to three months of rent. This also applies if the landlord purposely makes the living conditions for the tenant harder by causing interruption of essential services.
In a month-to-month lease, the notice required to end the tenancy period is 30 days. However, in leases with a fixed end date, the landlord may not provide any notice as long as they let the tenant leave when the contract ends.
Finally, weekly agreements require landlords to provide at least seven days of notice to end the contract.
Landlords are able to terminate a lease early as long as they provide notice. On the other hand, if the tenant remains on the property after the lease term ends, the landlord can seek legal action.
However, a landlord could also terminate the lease early if the tenant fails to comply or violates the terms stated in the agreement (i.e., they fail to pay rent or do something that harms the physical condition of the property, such as casualty damage).
How to Write One
Now that you know about the notice required a tenant needs from the landlord, let's cover the primary factors in writing your lease termination document:
- Outline the type of notice you will give the tenant based on your lease type.
- Enter the information of all the parties involved in the lease, particularly the tenant and landlord.
- If possible, state the reasons why you're terminating the lease.
- Include a copy of the previous agreement which states the original end date of the lease.
- State where the security deposit will get sent after the tenant moves out.
- Sign the document before sending it to the tenant.
Build Your Own
In case you're having trouble creating a document of this nature for your tenants, feel free to use DoorLoop's templates for free! You can also pay a fee to download the customizable version.
If you are terminating your lease and need the tenant to sign, or you want to sign a new lease with a new tenant, you want to make the process as easy and efficient as possible.
With DoorLoop, you can get your agreements eSigned in a few seconds. You can also get to the eSignature step much faster by creating reusable templates that are autofilled with tenants' information.
DoorLoop also makes it so simple to find the best tenants in the first place by syndicating your listings on popular websites Zillow, Trulia, Hotpads, Apartments.com, and more. You can also make sure you're bringing in the best tenants by screening your prospects in seconds through DoorLoop.
For more information about DoorLoop, learn more or schedule a free demo.
Now that you know the notice required for tenants to vacate and other details, it's time to get started! Remember you can also download one of our templates if you need any help.
Is It Possible for a Landlord to Terminate the Lease Early?
Yes, but they need to provide their tenant with notice. The amount of notice will depend on the type of lease.
Can Landlords Force a Tenant to Move Out?
No. If the landlord tries to evict their tenant through the proper channels, the tenant may choose to seek legal action.
Is South Carolina a Landlord-friendly State?
Yes! South Carolina is considered landlord-friendly.
Can I customize my own form or agreement?
Yes, you always can, however if you want to be 100% sure you are protected, you should consult an attorney in your local area.