A month-to-month lease agreement allows landlords to rent out a rental property to tenants in exchange for rent payments.

However, unlike other real estate contracts, this agreement is short-term and can be terminated at any time as long as one of the two parties provides proper notice.

Need to draft a month-to-month rental agreement? Here's everything you need to know about it and Kentucky laws!

How Does It Work?

In both Kentucky and other states, this document outlines tenants' and landlords' rights and responsibilities during the lease term. Therefore, it should include the following:

  • When tenants must pay rent
  • Who is responsible for keeping the housing unit in good condition
  • How much tenants must pay for monthly rent
  • Late fees
  • Security deposit amount and when the landlord can use it
  • Where notices should be sent to
  • And more

Legal Disclosures

In addition, this document must include the following disclosures to be considered legal under Kentucky law:

  • Lead-based paint disclosure: Landlords must inform tenants about the presence of this type of paint in the rental unit if it was built before 1978.
  • Managers and Agents Disclosure: Property owners must disclose their names and contact information. The same is true for managers or anyone else with access to the property.
  • Security Deposit Disclosure: Landlords must keep security deposits in bank accounts. Moreover, they must provide the bank account number and location to tenants.
  • Move-in/Move-out Checklist: Property owners are also required to provide a written account of the unit's conditions if tenants pay security deposits.

How Much Notice Should Kentucky Landlords Give?

If Kentucky landlords want to end a month-to-month lease, they must provide 30 days' notice to tenants, as required by local law.

Evicting Tenants in Kentucky

Also, if they want to evict tenants in this state, landlords must file a complaint with a county court.

It's important to note that this is possible only when the landlords have delivered proper notice, the period expires, and the tenant remains in the property.

Download or Customize your Own Form

Need help drafting your Kentucky month-to-month lease agreement? Doorloop has everything you need! Find free rental forms on our website!

Do you want to customize yours? There's an option worth trying. With this paid service, you can get a template for each state.



Who Can End a Month-to-month Lease in Kentucky?

No, you can't! A month-to-month lease agreement doesn't set an end date. Therefore, both parties can terminate it at any time.

Should Landlords Give Notice Before Raising Rent?

Yes! Landlords must provide 30 days' notice before increasing rent.

Are There Delivery Requirements?

Landlords can deliver the notice in person, through certified mail, or by sending it to the place designated for receipt of communication.

Can I Use This Document for Fixed-term Leases?

No, you can't! A month-to-month lease agreement doesn't set an end date. Therefore, both parties can terminate it at any time.

Free Downloads

David is the co-founder & CMO of DoorLoop, a best-selling author, legal CLE speaker, and real estate investor. When he's not hanging with his three children, he's writing articles here!