Many real estate investors worry about buying a rental property because they're not sure how to create a binding lease agreement. It's important to be accurate and follow Kansas rules.
This document protects the Kansas landlord and tenant, telling each person what they need to know about the premises.
Typically, these agreements should include the terms the landlord wishes to uphold within the unit. This focuses on landlord-tenant laws, termination terms, and much more.
The following page outlines everything such an agreement should have. Plus, you learn about making your life easier with property management software.
A Kansas rental lease is a contract signed by the landlord and potential tenant for livable space (or working space) within the property.
The document states the rules about the unit, such as rent, security deposits, and recurring fees. It must comply with Kansas rules and is legally binding once signed by the landlord and tenant.
What to Include
The agreement should include the rules enforced while the tenant lives at the property, such as payments made on a monthly basis and more. Here are some of the things to provide:
The state doesn't have relevant laws in place about how much people can charge in rent. However, it's a good idea to check similar properties and determine that it's within the means of a prospective tenant.
Statutes claim that rent must be paid at the beginning of each month, though agreements can offer a different due date.
Late fees can apply if they're written into the agreement, but it must include how much and when they are paid. Generally, there's no law that caps this amount, so it could be the full monthly rent or any other amount.
The security deposits maximum can't exceed a total of 1.5 months' rent for a furnished property. However, the max for unfurnished rentals is one month's rent. An additional security deposit can be requested for pets.
Reimbursement of the security deposit to the tenant must happen within 14 days of noting any deductions and within 30 days of the contract being terminated.
Lease Termination and Evictions
Tenants can terminate a lease early without penalty unless the agreement contains an early termination clause.
However, landlords may not terminate leases and evict someone unless they have:
- Violated the agreement (housing pets in pet-free units, having too many people living in the space, material safety/health violations, damage to rental unit, illegal activity)
- Failed to pay rent (non-payment)
- Not renewing the lease after the initial period
Right to Entry
A Kansas landlord must provide reasonable and advanced notice before entering the premises during regular business hours for repairs and maintenance. Generally, 24 hours is sufficient.
Build Your Own
Kansas law states that landlords must provide these disclosures in a rental lease before a tenancy begins. Tenants have the right to read them and determine if they wish to live there or not:
- Landlord Name/Address - The landlord or other authorized individuals should create a line of communication to receive important notices from the tenant. Landlords must include an address alongside or within the lease. Tenants must be immediately notified of changes.
- Move-in Checklist - Landlords in Kansas must provide a move-in checklist, completing it jointly with the tenant within five days of possession. It doesn't have to be included in the agreement and identifies existing damages to reduce deductions from the security deposit as needed upon moving out.
- Lead-based Paint Disclosure - It's federal law within the US to disclose the risks of lead-based paint in homes built before 1978. The landlord of the rental must fill out a disclosure form and attach it to the rental agreement. Likewise, the tenant must receive an approved pamphlet discussing the dangers of such paint. From there, the landlord-tenant rules state that additional records and reports about the Kansas rental be presented.
Most people believe they need licensed attorneys to handle their leases. However, it is simpler to use a free form and create customizable templates with ease.
Property management software can help. DoorLoop lets you upload templates and customize them effortlessly. Therefore, you don't have to hire a law firm to get things done correctly.
Plus, you can craft a Kansas rental application, which helps you determine a tenant's credit history and other helpful facts about them.
What if you want or need to sign your lease electronically? That's where DoorLoop comes in.
With DoorLoop, you can turn your form into a reusable template, have it auto-fill all the tenants' information, and send it for eSignature via your secure tenant portal.
If you're looking for new tenants, you can market your property on Zillow, Trulia, Hotpads, Apartments.com, and more. The best part is, there’s no more paper applications! Your tenants can fill out their rental application online, and you can even run background checks on them covering criminal, credit, and eviction reports powered by TransUnion.
To get a closer look at DoorLoop, learn more or schedule a free demo.
It's often difficult to know what to include in a lease. Many states, like Kansas, have specific things to provide, and you could get in trouble if you don't offer that information.
You know you want the lease to be legally binding, but that means understanding where to turn and how to write these documents. Request a demo of DoorLoop today and see how the software can help you create and customize leases based on your needs.
How long should a Kansas lease agreement be?
The maximum lease term is one year. The landlord/tenant can agree to leases longer than that, but it must be in writing and not verbal.
Are lease agreements legally binding in the state?
Yes, a lease to rent a property for payment and use of the premises is legally binding. Once the tenant and landlord sign it, both parties must adhere to the rules within.
Can a lease agreement automatically renew?
Yes, a rental contract can automatically renew for the same premises. If the tenant has been living on the property for a year or more when the lease expires, the tenancy becomes year-to-year after the end date.