By how much can a landlord raise rent according to Nevada rent control laws? When are they allowed to increase the rental payment and what are the required form and notices?
These are just a few of the many questions you need to ask when considering a rent increase for your rental property.
Unlike some other states in the US, Nevada's rent control law is not as strict when it comes to how rent increases. Landlords are pretty much free to increase rent whenever they wish without answering to any law enforcement agency.
However, these privileges are only available to those who understand and follow the rental agreement laws regarding providing proper notice to a tenant or his or her agent.
If you are about to raise the rent for your rental property, you have done the right thing by coming here first. Rental payment laws differ from state to state and this article will focus on the things you need to know in Nevada.
What Does Nevada Rent Law Say?
The first step to increasing rent is to issue a written notice to the tenant, called a rent increase notice.
This is a document that will inform the tenant that you intend to raise the rent as well as the date that the rent increase will become effective.
If a landlord tries to raise the rent without giving proper notice to the tenants, this will be considered a breach of the lease agreement contract and not only can the tenant refuse to pay rent but they can also sue their landlord.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Nevada?
The rent increase can be any amount because Nevada rent control laws do not limit the amount of rent landlords can charge, nor do they require any specific reason to be given for rent increases.
This means any time the landlord feels that a change in the rental property market warrants increasing rent, they can do so.
While no reason for the increase in rental payments is necessary, it is important that landlords not raise the rent for discriminatory reasons, such as race, age, gender, or religion.
How Much Written Notice Must a Landlord Give?
Before they increase rent, landlords must give proper notice to their tenants. The nature of the lease agreement is what determines the amount of notice that is required, for example:
- Periodic tenancy of not more than one month will require a 15-day notice
- At-will tenants on a monthly agreement require 45 days’ notice
- Week-to-week tenants will require a 30-day notice
- The landlord cannot raise the rent in the middle of a lease term and must give a notice of 60 days after the expiration of the lease agreement
When Tenants Refuse Rent Increases
There are times when tenants and landlords fail to come to an understanding regarding the notice to increase rent.
If the landlord feels the average rent of other similar rental properties in the area warrants a rent increase but the tenant refuses to accept this, there are measures the landlord can take.
The first option is to allow the lease term to run its course and thereafter not issue a lease renewal. This means the tenant will have to move out and find cheaper accommodation.
Another option is to issue the tenant with a notice to vacate according to Nevada state laws. If they refuse to leave the rental property after the notice has expired, the landlord can initiate eviction proceedings.
Nevada Rent Control Laws
Nevada rent control laws are very easy to understand and implement whenever you feel that a rent hike is necessary.
At Doorloop, you will find all the resources you need to give proper advance notice to tenants regarding your intentions to increase the rent as well as documents on all other important rent control laws.
Evicting a Tenant for Not Making Rent Payments
Evection is usually reserved as a last resort when all other avenues for reaching an amicable agreement have been explored.
However, in Las Vegas, it is common for evictions to be difficult due to issues surrounding security deposits or the tenant not having any other place to go.
How to Download Rent Increase Forms
When you visit the DoorLoop website, you will notice that all the required documents and forms you need to successfully and lawfully increase rent are available and arranged in an easy-to-navigate format.
To find the resources you want, simply navigate to your state and select the relevant forms for a free download.
Why Not Customize All Your Rental Agreement Forms?
Another great way to ensure that all your requirements are met and that you are 100% on the right side of Nevada rental laws is to build and customize your notices.
At DoorLoop you can easily customize any form you want to include relevant details that may be essential to your particular circumstances.
DoorLoop Has What You Need When Increasing Rental Prices!
No other place on the internet has a more comprehensive collection of all the forms and documents needed by Nevada landlords such as doorloop.com. Visit the page right now!
Does a Nevada Landlord Need a Reason To Increase Rent?
No, as long as the reasons for increasing rent are not based on any kind of discrimination, landlords are free to raise rent on any of their rental properties.
How Often Can Rental Property Prices Be Increased in Nevada?
The rent control law in Nevada does not dictate the number of times rent hikes can be implemented as long as proper notice is given to the tenant and it is not done in the middle of a lease agreement term.
What Are Some of the Reasons Landlords Cannot Use To Increase Rent?
A landlord may not increase the rent due to any of the following reasons:
- Sexual orientation
- Familial status
Should I consult with an attorney before raising rent?
It's always a good and safe idea to consult with an attorney before raising rent, especially if the research you've done shows that you could be in violation for increasing rent too much.