Do you wish to know how to craft a Rhode Island sublease agreement? This legal document is something that you may want to consider if you can't live on the property and don't want an eviction on your record. Let's learn more about it!
The Rhode Island sublease agreement is an official contract that allows the current tenant to rent all or some of the property to someone else. They must create a sublease for the new tenant that doesn't conflict with the original.
What to Include
- Date of the arrangement
- Full names of sublessor and subtenant
- Lease terms, such as parking and pet rules
- Whether the subtenant can renew the sublease once it expires
- Utilities to pay
- Security deposits the subtenant must pay
- Amount of rent due, when, and where to send it
- Disclosures the original tenant received
- The signature of each party with landlord consent (required in Rhode Island)
How to Write One
- Property Type - Determine the property type you're subleasing (condo, apartment, single room, or house).
- Current Tenant(s) - List you and others in the original lease.
- Address for Rent and Notices - This is often the same as the rental property.
- Subtenants - Write the names of everyone subletting the property.
- Minor Children - List the children under 18 years old who are living on the property.
- Landlord - Include the landlord's name from the original lease on the Rhode Island sublease.
- Copy of Original Lease Agreement - Always include a copy of the original lease for your protection.
- Subleased Address - Provide the address of the property you're subletting, including floor and unit numbers.
- Additional Information - This can include where they can go, rent, deposit, beginning and end date, and more.
Check the original lease to see if you are allowed to sublet. You should get written permission from the landlord before subletting a property in Rhode Island. Once you fill out the agreement, you're responsible for them and liable for violations.
In Rhode Island, the sublessor must:
- Provide a five-day notice to leave or pay rent
- Give a 30-day written notice of the intent not to renew the original lease or sublease
- Return the security deposit within 20 days of the sublease's end
Build Your Own
We realize how challenging it is to create a sublease. DoorLoop offers free templates to help you on your journey:
Lease signing is your biggest opportunity to lay the foundation for a pleasant tenant experience, and that relies on making the process as easy and efficient as possible.
With DoorLoop, you can get your subleases eSigned in a few seconds. You can also get to the eSignature step much more easily by creating reusable sublease templates that are autofilled with tenants' information.
DoorLoop also makes it so simple to find the best tenants in the first place by syndicating your lisitngs on popular websites Zillow, Trulia, Hotpads, Apartments.com, and more. You can also make sure you're bringing in the best tenants by screening your prospects in seconds through DoorLoop.
For more information about DoorLoop, learn more or schedule a free demo.
You've learned what to include in your Rhode Island sublease agreement. Now, it is time to create your own. DoorLoop is there to help you!
Is It Legal to Sublet in Rhode Island?
Yes, it's legal to sublet in Rhode Island, but subleasing isn't addressed within the Residential Tenant and Landlord Act in Rhode Island.
Can the Tenant Sublet without Getting Permission?
There are no laws addressing subletting, but it's best to get written permission from the landlord. Most landlords require the subtenant to fill out a rental application form.
How Can You Get out of the Rhode Island Sublease Agreement?
The sublessor can:
- Send a 10-day notice before termination is needed for weekly leases
- Send a 30-day notice before the date specified for monthly leases
- Provide a three-month notice for yearly leases with no end dates
The subtenant can:
- Ask the sublessor to end the sublease early
- Find a replacement subtenant if the sublessor agrees
Can I customize my own form or agreement?
Yes, you always can, however if you want to be 100% sure you are protected, you should consult an attorney in your local area.