Lease agreements are put in place to protect landlords and tenants, and they are there to inform tenants of the rules for renting a property.
Because federal and state laws govern New Jersey rental lease agreements, landlords must ensure that they pay special attention when drawing up their residential lease agreements.
In this article, we'll equip you with the information you need to draw up a detailed residential lease agreement in New Jersey.
What to Include
Here are some of the important details you must include in your New Jersey rental agreement:
- The names, addresses, and contact details of all the parties involved
- Address of the rental property
- Information about the monthly rent - how much and when it is due
- Late fees and bounced checks - are there any fees if tenants pay late or their checks are returned?
- The lease term
- Details about the security deposit - when it is due and how it will be managed
- Warranty of habitability - landlords must ensure that tenants have access to heating, water, carbon monoxide and smoke detectors, locks, and more.
- Disclosures (more on that later)
- Restrictions - parking rules, access to the property, etc.
- The eviction process - tenants may be given a 30-day notice to leave the property for failing to pay rent or violating the terms of the agreement; or a three-day eviction notice for illegal activity
Does your home contain lead-based paint? Are there any other potential hazards? Here's what you'll need to disclose to prospective tenants:
1. Flood Zone Disclosure
Suppose a rental property in New Jersey is located in a flood zone. In that case, the landlord has a legal obligation to notify tenants of this in the lease agreement before the tenants occupy a residential property in order to protect the landlord from potential flood damages.
2. Truth in Renting Guide
Landlords are expected to include the New Jersey Truth in Renting Guide in their rental contracts and provide access to this guideline in a common spot on the premises to keep tenants informed when signing a lease.
If this is not followed, the lease agreement may not apply.
3. Lead-based Paint Disclosure
Federal law states that all landlords have an obligation to inform tenants about lead-based paint hazards if the property was built before 1978.
4. Tenant's Right to Child Protective Window Guards
To prevent liability for accidents caused by a lack of child protection window guards, landlords must notify renters of their right to request these window guards on the premises for a fee of $20 per installation.
Landlords will also have to maintain window guards to ensure that they are always functional.
Build Your Own
If you're looking for an easy way to build your own rental agreement, you have a number of options. You could try the eForms rental contract builder for your state.
However, if you feel that this tool doesn't allow you to customize your agreement to get it the way you want, you should try DoorLoop!
What Is DoorLoop?
DoorLoop has an intuitive automation software designed specifically for landlords. It helps them create and manage their lease agreements, receive and track payments, and so much more.
If you own a number of rental units, you'll find that DoorLoop is an invaluable tool to help you manage your business. Use the autofill feature to complete details on your lease contract to save you time and effort.
Feel free to schedule a demo and see DoorLoop at work for yourself.
Lease agreements are essential documents to outline the rules and requirements that both tenants and landlords must abide by. However, New Jersey has a number of landlord-tenant laws that must be considered when drawing up rental agreements.
There are also federal laws in play that must be considered. Fortunately, you can use our New Jersey residential lease guide and DoorLoop's innovative rental contract generator to simplify the process.
Can I use DoorLoop to create a New Jersey commercial lease agreement?
Yes! DoorLoop allows you to draw up many different types of lease agreements. Whether you need to draw up a New Jersey sublease agreement, a rental contract for a commercial property, or a New Jersey roommate agreement, DoorLoop will help you do it quickly and easily!
How long do landlords have to return a security deposit in New Jersey?
New Jersey landlords have 30 days from the date that the tenant vacates the property to return the security deposit.
What is the maximum security deposit that a landlord may demand for a residential property in New Jersey?
State laws govern the amount that New Jersey landlords may charge for security deposits. Maximum amounts are equivalent to 1.5 times the monthly rent, and if the tenant agrees to renew the rental contract for more than a year, no more than 10 percent of the rent may be charged as an additional deposit.
Can a landlord enter a rental property?
Yes, landlords can enter their properties, provided that they give the tenant a 24-hour notice for non-emergency situations.